Sri Bhairavi: 5th Dasa Mahavidya and Goddess of Kundalini

Shakti, the feminine energy in Indian mythology and Vedic Story desired to create a world where life thrived. She divided herself into three parts: Lakshmi, Saraswati, and Parvati. Goddess Lakshmi takes care of wealth and opulence. Goddess Saraswati takes care of knowledge, wisdom, and art. Goddess Parvati (Sri Bhairavi, 5th Dasa Mahavidya and Goddess of Kundalini) balances power and equality between men and women. She preserves and destroys those who misuse the power in her Dasa Mahavidya, or ten tantric goddess avatars.

Feminine energy is shakti, or the power of the Trinity: Brahma, Vishnu, and Shiva. Shakti is Maya, an illusion. She is the bestower of enlightenment who seeks her and is the possessor of Maya. Shakti divided herself into ten tantric goddesses or Dasa Mahavidhya. She can lead a path towards beauty and danger. It depends on the person and what they want to see.

Earlier, Vedic Story narrated the stories of Kali, Tara, Tripura Sundari, and Bhavaneshwari, the terrifying forms of Para Shakti. Today, we have come with Sri Bhairavi, 5th Dasa Mahavidya, Goddess of Muladhara: Seven Chakras of Tantric Hinduism.

Significance of Goddess Bhairavi

Sri Bhairavi is one of the most terrifying aspects of Dasa Mahavidya, or the ten tantric goddesses. She petrifies rage and negative force towards those who try to curb the growth of spirituality. She is a terror with frightening raw energy. Goddess Bhairavi wraths her fury over the men who threaten her children.

Devi Bhairavi is also known as Kala Bhairavi, Rajarajeshwari, Shubhankari, and Tripura Bhairavi, as she holds the three worlds like Tripura Sundari. She is the divine consort of Bhairava, the fierce form of Lord Shiva. She is the 4th Dasa Mahavidya of Goddess Parvati. Devi Kala Bhairavi represents triumph over sensual desires if a person wants to grow spiritually.

The Iconography of Goddess Kala Bhairavi

As per Indian Vedic scriptures, Devi Kala Bhairavi sits on a lotus throne. She holds in her two hands a book and a rosary, and the other two hands are in Abhaya and Varada mudra. Goddess Bhairavi wears red bridal attire with a garland of heads on her neck. She has three eyes and wears a crescent moon as a tiara.

Devi Mahatmya mentions that the goddess is the manifestation of Kali. She carries a sword and cups of blood in her two hands.

Astrological Significance

In Vedic astrology, Kala Bhairavi controls the Lagna aspects of Kundalini’s seven chakras. Lagna is the first action of a soul when it meets matter or the earth and takes birth. Goddess Bhairavi controls human behavior, thinking, and personality traits.

Sri Bhairavi: Goddess of Speech, Touch, and Spirituality

As per Hindu myth, she activates the supreme power of speech in humans with her ferocious burning fire, Tejas. Devi Kala Bhairavi is the unarticulated elemental form of a crude sword, always ready to slay evil and ignorance.

Kala Bhairavi is the goddess of Sparsha, or touch, due to her control over the speech of humans. She is the goddess of petrifying wars and loves elaborate worship by her followers.

Bhairavi: Goddess of the Conscious Self

Devi Bhairavi, the 5th Dasa Mahavidya of Parvati, embodies the blaze of the conscious self as the divine light and heat. She is the eternal, unadulterated stream of knowledge. The goddess is the fire of the prime triangle of Muladhar Chakra, or Trikonantara Deepika in tantric.

Bhairavi: Goddess of the Five Senses

Mata Bhairavi is the form of fire or Tejas in the human body and rules over the Tanmantras, or five senses of sensory potential. These sensory aspects are linked to the five organs and the five elements. Thereafter, she infuses the power of life in humans so that they can work and nurture themselves towards spirituality.

Bhairavi: Goddess of Deep Joy and Ecstasy

Indian mythology depicts the goddess Bhairavi as the uncontrolled, gushing, and hissing power of Kundalini. Kundalini activation through penance purifies the soul and takes it to a higher level of the universe. She is represented as the sleeping, coiled serpent. One can awaken her through penance and sacrifice. If she once provokes, she wildly moves and helps the person feel the maddening of deep joy and ecstasy.

She seeks the release of her energy through passionate concentration and heat. Tapas, or penance, enables ambrosia, or bliss, and throws away the animalistic behaviors of humans to enjoy immortal delight.

Goddess Bhairavi is like Sri Lalita or Tripura Sundari, Goddess of Consciousness. Devi Lalita resides on three plans and enables people to have awareness, eternal bliss, and existence. She works on the spectral regions of sound and concentration. Devi Bhairavi, too, enables ecstasy and joy in humans by awakening the Kundalini.

Legends of Goddess Bhairavi

As per Durga Saptashati, Goddess Bhairavi takes the form of Changi to kill the wicked demons Shumba and Nishumba. She kills them due to their havoc on humankind and other asuras. Goddess Bhairavi, in her Chandi avatar, kills the Chanda and Munda most terrifyingly. Thus, she is called Chamundeshwari due to her oozing mouth with blood and sitting atop a donkey.

When she inebriates, the knowledge takes the form of Goddess Saraswati. However, when she is in her tamasic form, she sees all men as her lovers. She consumes all their sins in the fire of wisdom.

Bhairavi turns into the “Svaha” of the fire. “S” represents Shakti, “Va” represents Amritam, and “Ha” represents Lord Shiva or Hari. She is the consort of Kala Bhairava, an avatar of Lord Shiva. Together, they become Lord Rudra and Goddess Rudrani.

Hence, Devi Bhairavi, the 5th Dasa Mahavidya of Goddess Parvati, leads the path of spirituality and harmony for the seekers of knowledge and enlightenment.

Read More:

Shri Bhairavi Yantra

Tripura Bhairavi, one of the Dasa Mahavidya, or ten tantric goddesses, resides in the Muladhara Chakra of Kundalini. She is the form of Kamarupa and consists of three dots, or bijaksaras (sacred letters), in an inverted triangle. They represent iccha shakti, jnana shakti, and kriya shakti and are responsible for birth.

Goddess Tripura Sundari and Bhairavi are linked together, but their work is different. Tripura Bhairavi is situated as latent energy, and Tripura Sundari is the cause of latent energy and moves it upwards till it reaches Sahasrara Chakra.

Share your love
Archana Das
Archana Das
Articles: 13